Chocolate cupcakes with orange mascarpone cream on the top

Finally, I decided to start writing my blog and share my recepies with you. I came out with this idea a few years ago, but then I wasn’t sure about my cooking skills, I didn’t felt confident at cooking. I started baking almost every weekend and sometimes, when I was on vacation, I cooked like every single day…I improved my skills and knowledge about it, found out new tricks and ways to make everything better, closer to perfection. I hope that this blog will help me not to give up and always try to do my best.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

So here you go, one of my favorite cupcakes recipe:

Ingredients for 12 cupcakes:

  • 100g good dark chocolate (I use 85% cacao)
  • 100g butter
  • 3 eggs
  • 140g sugar (if you use sweet chocolate(about 40-50% cacao), you can add only 100g of sugar)
  • 3 tablespoons of natural yogurt/milk
  • 1 tablespoon of orange zest
  • 180g  flour
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 70g peanuts/almonds/cashews/or any other nuts made into flour

For the frosting:

  • 125g mascarpone
  • 15g butter
  • 100g icing sugar
  • 2 tablespoons of orange juice
  • 2 tablespoons of orange zest (you can use lemon/lime)

Steps:

Preheat the oven to 190 degrees C (375 degrees F)
Melt the butter and the chocolate together in the bown using the steam bath
Combine eggs and sugar for about 5 minutes, til it’s smooth and white
If the chocolate and butter mix already cooled down, carefully stir it with the eggs mix
Add yogurt, orange zest and mix it well
Mix flour with the baking powder
While using the flour seat, pour the flour to the chocolate-eggs mix, stir it carefully with a whisk
Add nuts flour
Finally, take your cupcakes forms, add a special cupcake paper. Add about 1,5-2 tablespoons of your mixture(it depends of the size of the cupcake form, do not add too much of mix, it will fall out).
Now put it in the oven and bake for about 30 minutes. Do not open the oven while it is in a baking process.
After 30 minutes open the oven, turn it off and leave your cupcakes in there for a few minutes, just in case to not to collapse.

While these cakes are cooling down, make the cream:

The ingredients must to be at room temperature
Combine mascarpone, butter and icing sugar well
Add the orange zest and juice, stir it slightly until it’s smooth
Use the confectionery bag to put the cream on the cupcake
Decorate it with anything you like – fruits, berries or chocolate.
Decorating cupcakes is the best part of cooking, use your imagination!
